Toilet Thieves

toiletthief

I have a great new office space with a wonderful location in the center of town.  The only problem was that the building’s bathrooms didn’t have any toilet paper nor any paper towels in them.  This is a problem when you have clients coming to see you and it could possibly be a reason for not returning.  I started buying toilet paper for the building but I realized that I couldn’t keep that up indefinitely since I would be paying for all of the offices.  Thankfully, other business owners have been chipping in and this has gotten better.  A grass roots toilet paper movement if you will.  However, what to do about towels?  It is extremely unpleasant and awkward to walk out of a bathroom with wet hands.  So I called up the owner of the building and asked if they could supply some paper towels.  I made sure to speak with the janitor first to see if there would be any problems on their end in the implementation and there were none.  However, the owner informed me that they had once tried to have towels and toilet paper in the bathroom but they kept getting stolen so they gave up.  She said that people were even coming in and taking the fresheners that sit in the toilet!  (Seriously people)  Ok, so I asked if she could just install a towel rack and I will provide the towels and take the risk that they will be stolen.  So I chose the ugliest dish towels I could find and we will see if they last.  It will be an interesting experiment.  If these disappear I plan to sew GPS tracking chips into the next ones.

Leave a comment